

IVCCD Board of Directors Meeting

Iowa Valley Community College District March 6, 2024 at 4:00 PM to March 6, 2024 at 7:00 PM Iowa Valley Community College District Administration Building Board Room, 3702 S. Center Street, Marshalltown, Iowa 50158

Attendance:

Present

Members: Chris Brodin, Amber Danielson, Joanna Hofer, Larry Johnson, Deb Jones, Paul Pohlson

Members Absent: Members: Clark Lawler

Also in attendance were President Anne Howsare Boyens, Board Secretary Abigail Pelzer, Board Treasurer Gena Garber and other college personnel.

Call to Order:

Board President Johnson called the regular session of the Iowa Valley Community College District Board of Directors to order at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 6, 2024 at the Iowa Valley Community College District Board Room, 3702 S. South Center Street, Marshalltown, Iowa 50158.

Additions/Deletions to the Agenda:

Board President Johnson moved Item 7.6 Closed Session for Collective Bargaining Strategy Session and 7.7 Closed Session for President's Review to the end of the Board Agenda, noting no further action would be taken prior to adjournment.

Approval of the Agenda:

Director Pohlson moved approval of the agenda. Motion seconded by Director Hofer. Motion carried unanimously.

Correspondence and/or Visitors:

Introduction of and Comments from Representatives to the Board:

BCS Representative Ashely Patlan, MCC Faculty Representative Danielle Kness, IVG Faculty Representative Barb Hall, ECC Faculty Representative Joerg Rochlitzer and Dr. Barb Klein shared activities about their units.

Recognitions:

- Dr. Robin Lilienthal recognized Pele Waddilove for a special award given on February 23, 2024, for over three decades of service to Phi Theta Kappa as a chapter advisor. Dr. Robin Lilienthal also noted a Regional Distinguished Chapter Member Award for Tommy Thompson for his work on our Operation Safe Kid last fall. This was for his community outreach work with gun safety. Additionally, the Beta Sigma Chi Chapter at Marshalltown Community College, Iowa Valley Grinnell Campus, has been named a 2023 REACH Reward Chapter.
- Dr. Barb Klein recognized a group of ECC agricultural students representing the program at a conference at Honey Creek Resort.

Introduction of New Employees:

No new employees were introduced.

Strategic Presentation:

Gena Garber gave a presentation on the Fiscal Year 2023 Financial Review.

CONSENT AGENDA:

President's Comments Regarding the Consent Agenda:

Dr. Howsare Boyens thanked Deb and Steve Satern of SATERN Barrels for donating barrels for lowa Valley Grinnell's gunsmithing program and commended Mr. Craig Harris who will receive an honorary degree at the request of the ECC Trustees.

Approval of the Consent Agenda:

Motion:

Director Jones moved approval of the Consent Agenda Items: Item 5.1. - Approval of Minutes; Item 5.2 - Personnel Report; Item 5.3. - Approval of Bills as Audited by the Finance Committee; Item 5.5 - Acceptance of Gifts and Grants and Item 5.6 - Approval of Honorary Degree for Mr. Craig Harris. Motion seconded by Director Brodin. Motion carried unanimously.

REGULAR AGENDA

Action Items:

Approval of FY2025 Certified Budget

Motion:

Director Brodin moved approval of the FY25 Certified Budget. Motion seconded by Director Hofer. On roll call vote: Ayes - Directors Danielson, Jones, Pohlson, Brodin, Hofer, and Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Amendment to Health Care Modernization Recommendation

Director Hofer moved approval of the Amendment to Health Care Modernization Recommendation. Motion seconded by Director Pohlson. Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of ATI Complete Package Contract

Director Hofer moved approval of the ATI Complete Package Contract. Motion seconded by Director Jones. Motion carried unanimously.

Approval to Set the Date for a Public Hearing on the Plans, Specifications, Form of contract and Estimated Cost for the IVCCD-ECC Arena Roof-Construction Project

Director Hofer moved approval of the Setting the Public Hearing on the Plans, Specifications, Form of Contract and Estimated Cost for the IVCCD-ECC Arena Roof-Construction Project. Motion seconded by Director Pohlson. On roll call vote: Ayes - Directors Danielson, Jones, Pohlson, Brodin, Hofer, and Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

Board of Directors FY24 Self-Evaluation

The results of the FY24 Board of Directors Self-Evaluation were discussed.

Information Items:

Monthly Financial Statements:

Ms. Garber reported on the January 2024 financials.

Board President's Report:

There was no report

Board of Directors Report:

Director Hofer commented on Community Colleges Day on the Hill and working with Exectuive Director Emily Shields to present to the Board in the future.

President's Report:

Dr. Anne Howsare Boyens discussed Community Colleges for Iowa's Leadership in Action Week including the Student Legislative Seminar, PTK Awards and Community College Day on the hill, noting MCC and ECC were well represented at PTK Awards. Dr. Howsare Boyens also discussed several legislative priorities and bills to be aware as the session continue.

Board Secretary's Report:

Board Secretary Pelzer asked for reservations for the Summer Trustee Conference/Leadership Institute at Hawkeye Community College on July 10,11. All Board Members will attend.

Closed Session for Collective Bargaining Strategy:

Director Brodin moved at 5:24 p.m. to enter into Closed Session under the provisions of Chapter 20.17 of the Code of Iowa for a Collective Bargaining Strategy session. Motion seconded by

Director Pohlson. On roll call vote: Ayes - Directors Danielson, Jones, Pohlson, Brodin, Hofer, and Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board entered Open Session at 5:29 p.m.

Closed Session for President's Evaluation

Director Danielson moved at 5:30 p.m. to enter into Closed Session under the provisions of Chapter 21.5(1.)(i.) of the Code of Iowa for the purpose of conducting a performance evaluation of Dr. Anne Howsare Boyens. Motion seconded by Director Hofer. On roll call vote: Ayes - Directors Danielson, Jones, Pohlson, Brodin, Hofer, and Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board entered Open Session at 5:52 p.m.

Adjournment:

The Board meeting adjourned at 5:53 p.m.

Larry Johnson, Board President

Wolgail Pelzer

Abigail Pelzer, Board Secretary

4/10/2024

Date