







# Annual Joint Meeting of the Board of Directors of Central Rivers AEA, Hawkeye Community College, Iowa Valley Community College District, and North Iowa Area Community College Wednesday, April 2, 2025 - 4:30 p.m.

#### Welcome

Central Rivers AEA Chief Administrator Stan Rheingans opened the annual joint board meeting between the AEA and community colleges via Zoom at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 2, 2025, welcoming the attendees and thanking them for the opportunity to hear updates from the past year.

#### **Central Rivers AEA Minutes**

Chief Administrator Stan Rheingans introduced those attending from Central Rivers AEA: Board President Dr. Debra Rich; Board Vice President Maureen Hanson; Board Members Bryan Burton, Dennis Craun, Nicole Lovik-Blaser, Dr. Tony Reid, and Dr. Mary Stevens; and Board Secretary Lori Thomas.

Mr. Rheingans gave an update on the many changes brought about from House File 2612 implemented by Iowa legislation. This year, Educational Services and Media Services operated on a 60/40 split with school districts receiving 60% of the funding and the AEAs receiving 40% of funds. Beginning in July 2025, 100% of those funds will go to the districts. Special Education funding did not change in 2024-25; however, beginning July 1, 2025, a 90/10 split takes effect with districts receiving 10% of special education funds.

Central Rivers AEA has made great progress in meeting the requirements of House File 2612, including reducing administrative costs, centralizing services and creating Centers of Excellence, and improving outcomes for students receiving special education. Mr. Rheingans shared that over the next year the agency will continue to work on developing their fee-for-service model for general education services and recommit to closing the achievement gap for students with special needs. The agency is also committed to building back a workforce of dedicated staff who provide the highest quality of service to all students and educators.

Respectfully submitted by Lori Thomas, Central Rivers AEA Executive Assistant/Board Secretary.

# **Hawkeye Community College Minutes**

Hawkeye Community College President Todd Holcomb introduced Board members in attendance: Board President Jay Nardini, and Trustees Louis Beck, Casey McLaughlin and Dave Westley.

Dr. Holcomb highlighted Hawkeye Community College's facility updates, including completed construction on the Regional Transportation Training Center, Health Education and Science Center, Wrestling Practice Facility and the First Impression Courtyard. He also discussed the beginning of the Butler Hall remodel and addition and the upcoming purchase of the second and third floor of Techworks.

Central Rivers AEA is committed to ensuring equitable, efficient, and effective educational services that prepare all lowa children for a life well-lived.

He shared that Hawkeye Community College is in the process of moving to the cloud to transition to the Software as Service (SaaS) platform. Also, the college recently rolled out a new website. Lastly, Dr. Holcomb shared the Admissions team won the Outstanding Equity & Inclusion award at the Community College Trade Show in December.

Respectfully submitted by Dee Paulsen, Hawkeye Community College Assistant to the President/Board Secretary

# **Iowa Valley Community College District**

IVCCD President Anne Howsare Boyens introduced Board members in attendance: Board President Joanna Hofer, Board Vice President Amber Danielson, and Directors Chris Brodin, Deb Jones, and Chris Lawler.

Dr. Anne Howsare Boyens highlighted Iowa Valley Community College District's campuses—Marshalltown Community College, Iowa Valley Grinnell, and Ellsworth Community College, as well as Iowa Valley Business & Community Solutions. She shared student demographics and enrollment statistics, IVCCD's achievements and initiatives, and outlined upcoming strategic plans and program expansions. The presentation emphasizes the District's commitment to enhancing education and community engagement.

Respectfully submitted by Abigail Casey, Director of Strategic Initiatives/Board Secretary - Iowa Valley Community College District

# North Iowa Area Community College

NIACC President Joel Pedersen introduced the Board members in attendance: Board President Cathy Rottinghaus, Board Vice President Andy Julseth, and Directors John Rowe, Debra Hill, and Doug Krabbe. Also in attendance was Abby Donald, Assistant to the President.

President Pedersen shared enrollment updates, including concurrent enrollment, as well as success rates, noncredit market penetration, construction updates, John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center updates, anticipated new programs, and challenges for the upcoming year.

Respectfully submitted by Abby Donald, North Iowa Area Community College Assistant to the President.

#### Adjournment

Chief Administrator Stan Rheingans thanked the college presidents and board members and adjourned the annual joint board meeting at 4:30 p.m.